Unhinged – Tempest C.Avery

  
Book Description – 

Spencer Perry lost everything the day her boyfriend died. Even when he came back as a ghost, she was never able to return to her old self. Determined to find a way to bring both of them back–him from the dead and her from her depression–Spencer hops a ride with a Reaper across the river to the Underworld where she meets the god of the dead. Hadrian isn’t what she expected Hades to be like, but when he agrees to a deal that can get her Micah back, she puts all caution aside and accepts. Too bad she didn’t realize that she’d also just accepted a lot more than one gorgeous yet frustrating god. Bad things are happening all around her, and now she not only has to worry about keeping Micah’s ghost status a secret from their friends, but also figure out who’s behind all of the accidents. All signs point towards Hadrian, but something about that just doesn’t feel right to her. Something that she hopes has nothing to do with her growing attraction towards him. 

Goodreads rating – 4,27/5 stars 
My review – Spoiler Free! 

I received a free e-book copy of Unhinged in exchange for an honest review for the We YA Books! club on Goodreads.

 Unhinged is the first book in the Underworld series and is based around Greek Mythology. If you are like me and adore Greek Mythology with a twist, then you will fly through this book. Spencer Perry loses her boyfriend one night and is devastated. She shuts the world out and spends most of her time in her room. That is, until she travels to the Underworld via the Ferryman where she makes a deal with Hades – known as Hadrian through the book. She has to spend one year (12 hours a day) in the Underworld in exchange for Micah’s life due to the myth about Persephone spending 6 months out of every year with Hades in the underworld. Bad things start happening to her and her friends and all the signs point towards Hadrian, but something doesn’t feel right as she doesn’t see him as the mythological evil God of the dead. 

The characters were amazing and they felt so real to me that I wanted to just jump into the book and be a part of their world. I could feel their emotions and could easily visualise what was happening, which shows that the author created an amazing fictional world within our own real one. I enjoyed the book and wished it would never end, yet I was extremely eager to find out what happened next after each chapter. I loved the development of Hadrian and Spencer’s relationship as there was no insta-love!  Their arguments were amusing and sarcastic but the caring nature that Hadrian possessed was presented quite well as it was subtle but evident. I honestly didn’t like Micah from the start, but I love Spencer’s friends.

I loved the book, although I did have some issues with Spncer and Micah as I found them a bit annoying and their relationship unrealistic however, I adored the book from the very beginning and I need to get to the rest of the series soon. Unhinged definitely became one of my favourite reads of 2015 and I definitely recommend it to you, especially if you love Greek Mythology, sexy bad ass men (Gods) and awesome sarcastic friends that are supportive no matter the crazy stories you tell them. 
My rating – 5/5 stars 

Instagram – Globalbookmania

Goodreads – Katerina Turner 

Leave a Reply

