Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare 


Synopsis –

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.
The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

Goodreads rating – 4,32/5 stars
My Review –

The hype about the Infernal Devices trilogy has become apparent and understandable to me. The Infernal Devices is the prequel series to The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. The Mortal Instruments is unfortunately not one of my favourite series, but I heard great things about the Infernal Devices so I had to read Clockwork Angel! I love the world of shadow hunters, warlocks, demons, vampires, werewolves, and fairies that Cassandra Clare had created because it is truly magical.

The setting of the trilogy is 1800’s London. The culture and sexism of this era was very well described and gave the book an interesting touch. The main character Tessa Gray reminds me of Clary from TMI, but they still do have their differences which I really like and I can easily say that I prefer Tessa. She is a really cool character and I found it easy to connect with her. Where there is Jace from TMI, there is Will who is just as sarcastic and witty with his humour and gets on my nerves just as much. Even though this series has characters that remind me of TMI it’s a completely different story and I really do prefer it to TMI.

Now I have to say that before reading Clockwork Angel I thought that Will was a character that I would like after hearing so many great things about him from booktubers, bookstagramers, etc; . However, after reading Clockwork Angel now, I can say that I don’t seem to see what everyone else does because all he did was annoy me and occasionally amuse me with his witty sarcasm. I don’t understand why Tessa likes him. He’s rude never really apologises which frustrates me but I am hoping that there is a reason behind this that I will find out as the series progresses.

Jem, who is also a shadow hunter in the book, happens to be kind and caring. He seems like the perfect guy so Tessa’s weird attraction to Will was frustrating. The plot line was amazing and I just could not put this book down! The pacing was great and the plot twist was really well portrayed. There were very few things that I found annoying but one of them was that both Tessa and one other female character kept whining that only men should fight, and that they were ‘ladies’. I know that it adds authenticity to the book due to the time period but as a feminist myself I found myself getting annoyed with the characters.

All in all, I thought that this was a great book  and I look forward to continuing with the series. It was nice to see some old friends (from TMI) such as Magnus Bane and Camille! I look forward to reading Clockwork Prince and The Bane Chronicles.

My rating – 5/5 stars

Instagram – Globalbookmania

Goodreads – Katerina Turner

Youtube – Globalbookmania

4 comments

  1. Charlene · December 11, 2015

    I also prefer TID to TMI but I read it before I read TMI so I wasn’t able to make any connections between the two as I read. I’m so glad I read TID first though because it kind of makes sense on account of the time period and I liked their shadowhunter world better.
    I can’t believe you don’t like Will! I love him and I find his sarcasm just too funny. His personality at least the seemingly cynical part is explained in the future books so you might change your mind. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Globalbookmania · December 11, 2015

      I hope I change my mind about Will because I want to understand why everyone loves him so much! He is witty and funny but also kind of an ass. The time period was portrayed really well!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Charlene · December 11, 2015

        But that’s what makes him so lovable haha. The time period is great plus the setting is London which was a winning factor.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Globalbookmania · December 11, 2015

        Gotta love London!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

