All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven 

  
Goodreads Synopsis – 

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

 Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

 When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. 

My Review –

This book really touches upon heavy topics. It’s about a mental illness that drives someone to the brink of suicide. The author creates this character, Finch, who is so alive, real and spontaneous yet he is running away from his problems and wS ready to give it all up. I absolutely loved him. I felt a huge connection to Finch. He made the novel so personal and relatable as I’m sure many people out there have witnessed or experienced first hand the effects and struggles of depression. 

  

The novel is also about Violet, who’s suffering from PTSD after losing her sister. Both Violet and Finch want to die, but then they don’t want to die, they simply want to escape their problems and cannot see a solution. Suicide is the main theme of the novel and its heavy but beautifully portrayed. The two characters meet on a tower and both want to jump off yet they realise that they are not completely alone. 

The book broke my heart because the reality is that people really do hide their feelings because they think that nobody will understand. If someone is suffering from a mental disorder they should get help, difficult as it may be to believe, there are people out there that care. Mental disorders are just as serious as physical disorders and should be addressed by a professional, there is nothing degrading or embarrassing about asking for help. 
The thing that really drew me in was the portrayal of characters. They felt so real, they capture the reality of bent a teenager and the emotional roller coaster that they endure. It captures anger. It captures heartache. It captures loss. It captures the fear of the future. This book showed me that no matter how bizarre someone’s problems, emotions, circumstances, etc may be to you, they are still very real and they should never be ignored or dismissed.

My rating – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 

Instagram – Globalbookmania

Goodreads – Katerina Turner 

Advertisements

6 comments

  1. Chelsea K · December 13, 2015

    This is beautiful review. I read this book as well and I could not bring myself to write a review. I had so many emotions with this book and the biggest was sorrow. I was devastated at Finch’s choice. I ran away from my feelings with book, I haven’t been able to look at this book without wanting to cry and save Finch. You definitely connect with his character and you feel as though you’ve been friends with him for all his life! This was a great book and a hatd one to read because you’re right, it does touch on a very rough subject.

    Thanks for your review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Globalbookmania · December 13, 2015

      I’m glad you liked my review! You are right, many people have a love/hate relationship with this book and that is what makes it so good! Finch’s character portrays the hundreds and even thousands of young men and women that cannot battle their depression and succumb to suicide.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BOOKCEPTION21 · December 13, 2015

    This one of my favourite books and it absolutely broke my heart too! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pierina Reads · December 14, 2015

    Such a good review! I’ve heard about this book but was not sure if it was the type of story for me. I liked your review and might just give it a read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s