Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Goodreads Synopsis –

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Goodreads Rating  – 4,26/5 stars

Review –

I liked this book. It had a great plot line and I would give 5 stars to that alone, however the book did have a couple of faults in my opinion, for example the characters and the way they acted reminded me of Twilight. I don’t have anything strongly against Twilight, it’s just the fact that that ship has sailed so I was expecting something quirky and original. I loved J.L. Armentrout’s Dark Elements trilogy , due to her unique humour and witty sarcasm, but didn’t see much of it in this book.

I finally picked up this book because everyone was talking about it… correction, they were talking about Daemon Black. The brooding sexy next door neighbour of our protagonist. He was a good character if not extremely frustrating at times. His sister Dee was portrayed really well, and was such a likeable character that I was able to connect with her within the first couple of chapters.

J.L.Armentrout seems to be very good at portraying her Main characters as people who have experienced the loss of a parent(s). It comes across fairly often and seems to balance out the novel with it’s mixture of humour, teenage mischief and the supernatural.

The Main Character, Kat, seemed to annoy me at times because as we see oh so very often… the main character is a confused little girl who doesn’t know what she wants and seems to be thrust into a situation that she is not ready to handle and ends up with everyone bending over backwards to protect her, whilst she is still trying to figure out whether she wants to kiss Daemon or kill him.

Not the best book, but it is good and I would recommend it to everyone! unless you really hate Twilight…

My Rating – 3,5/ 5 stars

Instagram – Globalbookmania

Goodreads – Katerina Turner

 

2 comments

  1. BooksaRica · December 23, 2015

    Hey, I tagged you to do the Christmas Songs Book Tag! Check it out here: https://booksarica.wordpress.com/2015/12/23/christmas-songs-book-tag/

    Like

Leave a Reply

