Paranomalcy – Kiersten White

7719245

Goodreads Synopsis – 

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

Goodreads Rating – 3,92/5 Stars

My Review – 

When I first picked up this book I have to admit that I wasn’t expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. Usually when I read books with teen protagonists they are always incredibly whiny and cocky, but Evie was actually a decent and realistic sixteen year old.

It was an incredibly fact paced and entertaining book that didn’t take much thought or concentration and is probably targeted at a middle grade audience. The plot line was interesting as was the world building as it was unique but not overly complex however I do think that some things could have been better explained ( for example the faeries), but overall It was well written. 

Of course there is a love triangle but that is too be expected of most YA books, however I must say that it was a weak triangle… in the sense that from the start you know exactly who the Evie will end up with, which makes the other guy a nuisance. 

My Rating – 3,5/5 Stars 

Goodreads – Katerina Turner 

Instagram – Globalbookmania

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. onceuponabookshelfblog · July 3, 2016

    I have seen this book around and I always wanted to read some reviews about it so I am so happy I found yours! I might pick it up in the future just to see how the story is. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Globalbookmania · July 3, 2016

      I’m glad that you liked my review! It is worth reading, it’s just not a mind blowing book. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashleigh · July 3, 2016

    I’ve read one of Keirsten White’s other books, but never been drawn to this one. Especially now that I know it has a love triangle… Although I do read YA a lot, I nearly always manage to avoid them. I think I’ll try some of her other books though, especially her newest one. Wish you could have enjoyed it more, though I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised by it! Lovely review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Globalbookmania · July 3, 2016

      I have to admit that I am incredibly bored of love triangles, which is why I’m moving further away from YA and more into psychological & historical novels. I heard about this series from a friend so I thought that I’d give it a shot, and it turned out to be ok. I’m glad you liked the review!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

